top of page


Public·14 members

The Players ((LINK))

The Players Championship (commonly known as simply The Players, stylized by the PGA Tour as The PLAYERS Championship) is an annual golf tournament on the PGA Tour. Originally known as the Tournament Players Championship, it began in 1974.[2] The Players Championship at one point offered the highest purse of any tournament in golf (from $12.5 million in 2019 up to $20 million in 2022).[3] The field usually includes the top 50 players in the world rankings, but unlike the major championships and World Golf Championships events, it is owned by the PGA Tour and not an official event on other tours.

The Players

Following the 2006 event, the course underwent a major renovation, which received very positive reviews from the players in 2007. Included in the renovation was a new 77,000-square-foot (7,150 m2) Mediterranean Revival-style clubhouse.

With the rearrangement of 2007, the final round of The Players Championship was usually on the second Sunday of May, Mother's Day in the United States. To mark this, most players wore pink shirts or accessories on Sunday, and many in the galleries also joined them in donning pink garb. (The two exceptions were in 2011 and 2016, when the final round was on Sunday, May 15.)

The Players has yet to produce a successful title defense; victories in consecutive years. Jack Nicklaus won three of the first five events, but in alternating years on different courses. Since moving to TPC Sawgrass in 1982, five players have won twice, but the shortest span between victories is six years (Steve Elkington: 1991, 1997).

This year, we made the call with the first Players' All-Pro Team. We asked players across the league to select who had the most impact this season. The players were tasked with voting for the best player at their same position and positions they line up against. Here are the results.

The great Oscar Robertson of Cincinnati succeeded Heinsohn as President in 1965 and announced at the 1967 All-Star Game that the players would seek new terms; specifically, they would ask the owners to be paid for exhibition games, to reduce the number of exhibition games from 15 to 10, and to upgrade the pension plan. The players won the following agreement:

In 1983, the players agreed to a landmark four-year collective bargaining agreement. The lynchpin of the deal was a revenue sharing/salary cap concept, under which the owners would guarantee the players a percentage of every dollar they earned, and the players in return agreed that each team would be subject to a soft cap on the amount of salaries it would pay to the players. The owners also provided:

Ceremonies at the 17th green will begin at 4:30 p.m. The concert is included with the price of a Players Championship ticket, with Tuesday practice round tickets free to members of the military. Parking must be purchased separately at

The PGA Tour Integrity Program, established Jan. 1, 2018, covers all facets of competition and operations, including players and their support teams, all tournament staff and volunteers, all Tour employees and the PGA Tour Policy Board.

Major champions Collin Morikawa and Adam Scott have joined Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm and Justin Thomas as players committed to play in TGL, a new primetime virtual golf league in partnership with the PGA Tour that will begin play in 2024. The announcement was made by TMRW Sports co-founders Woods, McIlroy and founder and CEO Mike McCarley.

Area players entered: Jonathan Byrd, Harris English, Lanto Griffin, Patton Kizzire, Philip Knowles, David Lingmerth, Trey Mullinax, Doc Redman, Sam Ryder, Davis Thompson, Michael Thompson, Carl Yuan.

Support The Players National Emergency Trust (NET) is an independent emergency and charitable trust fund created by the NWSL Players Association to assist current and former players with financial hardships. Support The Players NET will provide financial assistance to players who cannot afford basic living expenses and will remove cost as a barrier to accessing mental health services.

In order to qualify for a NET grant, you must be an active or former player who is a member in good standing with the NWSLPA. Former players who signed a pro contract in NWSL, WPS, or WUSA are eligible to join the NWSLPA as former players by clicking HERE.

If the winner came from this group, no one would be the slightest bit surprised. The respect Thomas is garnering in the market is certainly the most interesting aspect of this pool of players. The winner here in 2021, Thomas has looked wobbly since claiming the 2022 PGA Championship last spring. Perhaps a return to TPC Sawgrass, where he can put his artistry on display, is just what the doctor ordered. 041b061a72


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...
Group Page: Groups_SingleGroup
bottom of page